Reza Khandan (via Facebook): After weeks I was finally [permitted] a cubicle visit with Nasrin on Tuesday.

24 hours after she was transferred from *solitary confinement back to the general ward [in Evin Prison].

She has lost a considerable amount of weight. She currently weighs 43 kilograms (about 95 pounds).

I tried my best to relay the messages from friends urging her to break the hunger strike. I thought perhaps there was a chance she would end it. She said, “If I [break] my hunger strike they [will scheme] further against my family. I cannot swallow the fact that the [Iranian authorities] opened a case file against my 12-year-old daughter [solely] because I [am her mother]…”

Nasrin, someone who has spent her life defending children’s rights, continued, “I cannot just sit here and allow them to do whatever they like to my famly.”

I asked her how long she plans to continue her hunger strike. She said, “Indefinitely. Are you aware what an indefinite [hunger strike] means?” I replied, “No, I’m not.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

